Professional Development Programs


PPACA Certification
Developed by experts in both PPACA and employment law, this high-level 10-hour course will ensure that the student understands the key technical components of PPACA and is better prepared to counsel his or her clients on upcoming required healthcare changes and new options and requirements for health plans. Click here to find out more.

Registered Health Underwriter (RHU) Program
The Registered Health Underwriter (RHU) designation is the undisputed professional credential for persons involved in the sale and service of disability income and health insurance.  Individuals earning the RHU designation demonstrate a high level of knowledge about the principles and practices governing the disability income and health insurance business.

Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC) Program
The Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC) program focuses on providing the student with the knowledge necessary to become a professional in the sale and service of employee benefits plans. Individuals earning the REBC designation develop an understanding of the various types of group benefits and retirement plans, and the practical knowledge needed for choosing and/or designing the best benefits package that will meet the client's needs. Click here to obtain more information from NAHU on RHU and REBC

Disability Income Associate (DIA)
A DIA designation means that participants have acquired knowledge of the health care industry and the role of disability income insurance in protecting individuals from the financial losses that often attend serious physical injuries and other severe health afflictions. Upon completion of this course of study, students will understand the fundamentals of the health insurance industry, the role of disability insurance within the health care continuum, and recent disability trends.

Students will also gain knowledge of both federal and state government disability programs, including Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and state temporary disability income programs. Those achieving the designation will understand employer-sponsored disability programs ranging from sick leave benefits to long-term disability income plans, including their tax consequences and tax planning considerations. Students will also become aware of ways individuals can supplement government- and employer-sponsored programs through private disability income insurance. In addition, those completing the designation will gain insight into the role of disability income insurance in retirement, estate, and long-term care planning.
Click here to obtain more information from NAHU.

Corporation for Long Term Care Certification (CLTC)
The CLTC program is a designation program focused on LTC. The program was begun in 1999 and to date has produced more than 8,000 graduates. The CLTC course is foundationally about "planning" for long-term care. The program is offered in a 2-day Master Class format that is broken down into eight multi-disciplinary sections.

Part A: Aging in America
Part B: Long-Term Care Services
Part C: What Pays for Long-Term Care
Part D: Medicaid Planning
Part E: Long-Term Care Insurance
Part F: Proper Implementation of LTC Insurance
Part G: The Ethical Promotion of LTC Insurance
Part H: Estate Planning and LTC

The CLTC course reflects the nature of long-term care which is a continuum of care, housing and services people will need when they live a long live. Students are provided the information and training needed to offer guidance to families on a range of issues including home care, assisted living, nursing homes, social services, taxes, law and most important, what will pay for these resources.

The CLTC designation provides insurance and financial professionals with the tools to solve their clients' long-term care needs. CLTC instantly establishes credibility with consumers and professionals who demand excellence in the complex field of long-term care.

These courses are offered by the Corporation for Long-Term Care.
Click here to obtain more information from NAHU.

Employee Healthcare Benefit Associate (EHBA)
In the face of increasing medical costs, American workers continue to seek convenient and affordable health insurance coverage through their employers. Most employers want to provide an attractive benefit package while holding down rising costs in order to effectively meet the challenge of intensifying completion from both here and abroad.

Legislators have recognized this challenge and taken steps to help employers meet it. The result is an expansion of benefit planning options that employers can combine in different ways to meet the needs of their employees. These options - premium only plans (POPs), flexible spending accounts (FSAs), health reimbursement arrangements (HRAs), and health savings accounts (HSAs) - are the subject of these courses. The student will learn how each of them function, what features and advantages it offers, what potential drawbacks it has, what tax benefits it provides, and what regulatory requirements it must meet. Benefit from an in-depth look at retirees and their need for health care funding. Learn how traditional programs, including Medicare, are changing, and learn new options to fill the gaps.These courses are offered by American Health Insurance Plans (AHIP)
Click here to obtain more information from NAHU

Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS) Program
The CEBS designation is a total compensation credential that is recognized for the depth and breadth of critical knowledge that it provides. CEBS courses are designed to give you current, need-to-know information that will enable you to your job better and solve your organizational challenges. The courses cover all areas of total compensation - giving you a comprehensive perspective on the issues facing your business.
Click here to obtain more information from NAHU

Certified Self Funding Specialist
Now you can earn insurance and health Continuing Education credits and obtain a CERTIFIED SELF FUNDING SPECIALIST® (CSFS)® designation online through the Health Care Administrators Association (HCAA)

HCAA has developed a new, exciting training and certification program. The courses and certification are focused on the self funding benefit model and its associated ERISA framework. Consisting of seven training courses, each qualifying for Continuing Education credits, the certification program culminates in the award of the CSFS® designation.
Click here to obtain more information from NAHU

Diamond Sponsor

Emerald Sponsor

Sapphire Sponsor